RSS

Zero Dark Thirty

01 Apr

Usually I would put a clever name or something to bring about what I’m going to write, but I think the title speaks for itself clearly.

One of the few questions that you can ask someone and they can give you a definite answer is, “Where were you on 9/11?”  My answer is two fold; I was first walking to Drama 3 class, when a friend told me a plane crashed into the World Trade Center.  I thought it was strange that a plan would crash there, but kept walking to class.  As I got into the room I saw the portable television was on and had been wheeled out.  As I got to my chair and set my bag down, I saw on the live stream on TV, the second tower was hit a plane.  I was shocked, scared and even now I can remember the emotions that ran through me as this event took place.  The school went on lock down, and with us being only a few miles from Randolph Air Force Base in Texas, all ROTC students on campus were required to change clothing for their protection.

The beginning for “Zero Dark Thirty” brought back those emotions with the recordings of victims and responders during those attacks, and immediately set the tone that this movie was not going to hold back.  Put aside the controversy and political commentary surrounding the film, you have a very real look at what is done to protect our freedoms.  It is not pretty, it is not clean, but it is done.  People are tortured, through beating, water boarding, and other tactics, but the interrogation methods again are not softened or held back, so the viewer definitely gets a feeling of what exactly is done.

The story of “Zero Dark Thirty” follows the nearly ten year hunt for Osama bin Laden, and the person who works so hard to hunt him down, Maya.  Amid all of the hunting, the red tape of politics and twists and turns of all those standing in their path, you also see the emotional toll it takes on a person to do the things they do.  Every person has a breaking point, and the question of how far would you go, really shines through in the ending.

Most movies, I will admit, often have filler, some scene that’s not needed, or some shot that could be cut down.  But every single shot, in my opinion, was necessary and appropriate for this film.  This is a movie that people need to see, for it is not only a well executed film that is worthy of its Oscar Nominations, but is a piece of history for the actions that occurred, but more importantly, the cost for such actions.

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
